Mathieu L'Heureux Roy

 

 

Short Bio

I was lucky to grow up with a camera, when I was young I was happy to capture certain moments. After a while, I realized the potential of this medium, not only could I catch major events and human expressions, but I could literally paint with light as well.

 

 I studied photography in Canada and Australia where I met great teachers. Through my work and my travels, I have met many photographers, some more famous than others but most of them have one thing in common; they have a duty to archive, the duty to remember.  

 

Invited by the Banff Art Center to make prints in 2001, I have not stopped working in photography since; Chief photographer for ACP Media in New Zealand, Founding member of AC-Press in 2003 and president until its dissolution in 2011.  Freelance photographer and laboratory technician, professional printer, in short 20 years of work in photography.

 

Artist Statment

-Style

The style develops over time, no painter or photographer is born with a style, the style crystallizes with experimentation and experience. Far, real far, to compare myself to Adams (Ansel), Dombrovskis (Peter), Szilasi (Gabor), Depardon (Raymond), and the list is long but I tend to appreciate a classic style, very classic. Mr. Adams and Dombrovskis were photographers known for their patience and diligence in development. Sometimes the landscape puts a strain on my patience but even after a few months of waiting, success is appreciated and without having Adams experienced I have been perfecting darkroom printing for 15 years now. Mr Szilasi and Depardon are photographers who seek beauty in moments that may seem common, expressing the sincerity, the fragility of landscapes shaped by humans are for me the basis of my photographic reflection.

I tried several styles, portrait, photojournalism, etc. I loved the contrasting photos, graphics, the cross-process, but today I like photography for what it is; practically endless ranges of gray, soft colors, look for all the nuances of colors of autumn landscapes for example. I like to have the last touch of interpretation in a darkroom because the photo is a snapshot of the moment but the subtleties of the landscape are not always present or sometimes lack of intensity, in the darkroom I make sure to convey the feelings , the intensity of the moment.

 

-Landscape

The landscape photographs demonstrate purity, greater than oneself. In a world where everything goes very quickly, these landscapes reveal themselves as a ephemeral moment. These photographs are a timeless zone because these landscapes can't be reproduce, it is the capture of the moment that is shared. I do a lot of scouting in the region, once a place is chosen I can move there many times and even sometimes I can wait up to six months to have the sun in a certain place. Over time you learn to break certain rules, I took memorable pictures at noon. I work a lot with composition, it is for me the most important aspect and often neglected by photographers. For me, the important thing is to keep the eye of the spectator active, not to give him the center, I want him to look at the whole photo, to stop at the small details, that he traverses the landscape as I have traversed it; by taking the time. These pictures demonstrate the appropriation of the territory by humans. Whether by building agglomerations, means of transport or through agriculture, humans inevitably alter the landscape. Man is part of the landscape.

 

-Technical data

I use a film process to get closer to the state of creation of the first boom of the eighth art. This process allows me to find breathing, gestures, sensations and to tame the temporal approach of photography. I had abandoned film after school, in a workplace digital replaced film for reasons; time management and economic viability. And then I worked in lab, and finally made it in the darkroom, and realized printing for tother photographers; film photography allows greater control over the rendering of the final product compared to the instantaneous of the polaroid or digital. This control allows me to get as close as possible to the feeling experienced during the shooting. The analog element also brings us back to the invention of film 130 years ago, without being nostalgic, this aspect places us in a time space. In addition to this historical fact, I try to take photos that are not captured in a time frame. 

My favorite camera is the Rolleiflex, it has an incomparable optical quality. The lens has no (or only one) protective layer which makes it less contrasting, much softer, the colors are in my opinion closer to what I perceive. The models I use date from 1958 and 1959. These cameras do not require batteries and do not have a photometer. The twin-lens allows shooting at the hip-level , therefore a creative process is part of the shooting, the search for the frame because it is not the vision we have. Their triggering is extremely silent, which is a significant advantage when reporting. From the beginning of the sixties photo-reporters made it their favorite camera and several famous photographers used the Rolleiflex; Lee Miller, Doisneau and Robert Capa to name just a few. I also use other cameras, mainly Linhof either 6x9 or 4x5, cameras that I reserve for black and white. My favorite lenses are Rodenstock, which I also use on my Linhofs and in the darkroom. My enlargers are equipped with Rodenstock APO Gerogon. 

 

Thanks for reading, hope it wasn't too boring, my life isn't ;)

 

 Please note: All of my work is protected by copyright and may not be reproduced, copied, edited, published, transmitted or downloaded in any way without my written permission.

Mathieu L'Heureux Roy

 

Courte Bio

J’ai eu la chance de grandir avec un appareil photo, tout jeune j’étais heureux de saisir certains moments. Après un certain temps, j’ai réalisé le potentiel de ce médium, non seulement je pouvais attraper des événements majeurs et des expressions humaines, mais je pouvais ssi littéralement peindre avec de la lumière.

J’ai étudié la photographie au Canada et en Australie où j’ai rencontré des professeurs formidables. A travers mon travail et mes voyages, j’ai rencontré de nombreux photographes, certains plus célèbres que d’autres mais la plupart ont une chose en commun ; ils ont un devoir d’archives, le devoir de mémoire.

Invité par le Banff Art Center pour effectuer des tirages en 2001, je n’ai pas arrete de travailler en photographie depuis ; Photographe en chef pour ACP Media en Nouvelle-Zelande, Membre fondateur d’AC-Press en 2003 et président jusqu’a sa dissolution en 2011.

Photographe pigiste et technicien de laboratoire, tireur professionnel (en chambre noire), bref 20 ans de travaille en photographie.

 

Démarche artistique


-Style 

Le style se développe au fil du temps, aucun peintre ou photographe n'est né avec un style, le style se crystalise avec l'expérimentation et l'expérience. Loin de moi l'idée de me comparer à Adams(Ansel), Dombrovskis(Peter), Szilasi(Gobor), Depardon(Raymond), et la liste est bien longue mais je tend à apprécié un style classique, très classique. Mr.Adams et Dombrovskis étaient des photographes reconnus pour leur patience et leur assiduité au développement. Parfois le paysage met à rude épreuve ma patience mais même après quelques mois d'attentes la réussite est appréciée et sans avoir l'expérience d'Adams je perfectionne le tirage en chambre noire depuis maintenant 15ans. Mr Szilasi et Depardon sont des photographes qui vont chercher la beauté dans les moments qui peuvent sembler communs, exprimer la sincérité, la fragilité des paysages façonnés par l'humain sont pour moi la base ma réflexion photographique.

J'ai essayé plusieurs styles, le portrait, la photo-reportage, etc.. J'ai adoré les photos contrastées, graphiques, le procédé-croisé, mais aujourd'hui j'aime la photographie pour ce quelle est ; des gammes de gris pratiquement sans fin, des couleurs douceschercher toutes les nuances de couleurs des paysages d'automne par exemple. J'aime avoir la dernière touche d'interprétation en chambre noire car la photo est un instantané du moment mais les subtilités du paysage ne sont pas toujours présentent ou des parfois manque d'intensité, en chambre noire je m'assure de rendre les sentiments, l'intensité du moment.  

-Paysage  

Les photographies de paysage démontre la pureté, le plus grand que soi. Dans un monde ou tout vas très vite, ces paysages se révèlent l'instant d'un moment éphémère. Ces photographies sont une zone intemporelle car ces paysages ne reproduisent pas, c'est la capture du moment qui est partagé. J'effectue beaucoup de repérage dans la région, une fois un lieu choisi je peux m'y déplacer à maintes reprises et même parfois je peux patienter jusqu'à six mois pour avoir le soleil à un certain endroit. Avec le temps on apprend à transgresser certaines règles, j'ai pris des clichés mémorable à midi tapant. Je travail beaucoup avec la composition, c'est pour moi l'aspect le plus important et souvent négligé par les photographes. Pour moi, l'important c'est de garder l’œil du spectateur actif, ne pas lui donner le centre, je veux qu'il regarde l'ensemble de la photo, qu'il s'arrête au petits détails, qu'il parcoure le paysage comme moi je l'ai parcourus ; en prenant le temps.  

 Ces clichés démontre l'appropriation du territoire par l'humain. Que ce soit en construisant des agglomération, des moyens de transports ou par l'agriculture, l'humain altère forcément le paysage. L’homme fait partie du paysage.

-Éléments historiques techniques 

J'utilise un procédé argentique pour me rapprocher de l'état de création du premier essor du huitième art. Ce procédé me permet de retrouver la respiration, les gestes, les sensations et d'apprivoiser l'approche temporelle de la photographie. J'avais délaissé l'argentique à la sortie de l'école, dans le milieu de travail le numérique à suplanter l'argentique pour des raisons de gestion du temps et de viabilité économique. La photographie argentique permet un plus grand contrôle sur le rendu du produit final comparé à l'instatané du polaroid ou du numérique. Ce contrôle me permet de me rapprocher le plus possible du sentiment vécu lors de la prise de vue. L'élément analogique nous rapporte aussi à l'invention de la pellicule il y  a maintenant 130 ans, sans être nostalgique, cette aspect nous situe dans un espace temps. Outre ce fait historique, j’essaie de prendre des photos qui ne sont pas emprise dans un espace temps.  

Mon appareil de prédilection est le Rolleiflex, il est doté d'une qualité optique incomparable.  C'est un appareil qui n'a aucune(ou une seulecouche protectrice sur l'objectif ce qui le rend moins contrasté, beaucoup plus doux, les couleurs sont à mon sens plus près de ce que je percois. Les modèles que j'utlise date de 1958 et 1959. Ces appareils ne requiert pas de piles et n'ont pas de photomètre. Le bi-objectif permet la prise de vue au niveau des hanches, dès lors un processus de création s'inscrit lors de la prise de vue, la recherche du cadre car il n'est pas la vision que nous avons. Leur déclenchement est extrêment silencieux ce qui est un avantage non négligeable lors de reportages. Dès le début des années 60 les photo-reporters en font leur caméra préférés et plusieurs photographes célèbres utiliseront le Rolleiflex ; Lee Miller, Doisneau et Robert Capa pour ne nommer que ceux . J’utilise aussi d’autres caméras, principalement Linhof que ce soit au 6x9 ou au 4x5, des caméras que je réserve au noir et blanc. Mes objectifs de prédilections sont Rodenstock, que j’utilise aussi sur mes Linhof qu’en chambre noire. Mes agrandisseurs sont pourvus de Rodenstock APO Gerogon. 

 

 

Notez s’il vous plaît : Tout mon travail est protégé par le droit d’auteur et ne peut être reproduit, copié, édité, publié, transmis ou téléchargé de quelque manière que ce soit sans mon autorisation écrite.